KDD 2006 August 20 - 23, 2006    Philadelphia, USA

The Twelfth Annual SIGKDD International Conference on
Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining

August 20 - 23, 2006
Philadelphia, USA

ACM SIGKDD invites nominations for its Innovation and Service Awards.

Nominations are due June 30, 2006

SIGKDD Innovation Award

One SIGKDD Innovation Award will be given to one individual or one group of collaborators who has made significant technical innovations in the field of Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery that have been transferred to practice in significant ways, or that have significantly influenced direction of research and development in the field.

The previous SIGKDD Innovation Award winners were: Rakesh Agrawal, Jerome Friedman, Heikki Mannila, Jiawei Han, and Leo Breiman.

SIGKDD Service Award

One SIGKDD Service Award will be given to one individual or one group of collaborators who has performed significant service to the field that include professional volunteer services in disseminating technical information to the field, education, research funding, etc.

The previous SIGKDD Service Award winners were: Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, Ramasamy Uthurusamy, Usama M. Fayyad, Xindong Wu, and the Weka Team.

Nomination Process

Each nomination should be co-sponsored by at least 3 people. Email co-sponsorship is accepted. Nominations should include a 1-2 page statement justifying the nomination, and other supporting materials.

At most one award will be given each year in each category.

Nominations will be valid for a period of 3 years.

Deadline for nominations

Please send all nomination materials by June 30, 2006 to Ramasamy Uthurusamy, samy[at]gm.com.

The awards will be presented at the 2006 ACM SIGKDD Conference to be held in Philadelphia, PA, USA, August 20-23, 2006.

ACM SIGKDD 2006 Awards Committee

Ramasamy Uthurusamy (GM, USA), Chair
Rakesh Agrawal (Microsoft, USA)
Eibe Frank (U. of Waikato, New Zealand)
Jerome Friedman (Stanford, USA)
Jiawei Han (U. Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Geoff Webb (Monash U., Australia)
Ian H. Witten (U. of Waikato, New Zealand)
Xindong Wu (U. Vermont, USA)

Webmaster: Teresa Mah